Eat In: Hummingbird Bakery Mini Cupcakes

20140410-145205.jpg

I love cupcakes. I mean, who doesn’t? Cupcakes can put a smile on anyone’s face… Unless they’re on a diet, maybe. But I do have one, little problem with the average cupcake, when serving them as a dessert: they’re just too big! When I eat a cupcake, a bite or two is enough. I just want the sensation of soft, buttery icing and a light, fluffy sponge, but – even with my seriously sweet tooth – a whole cupcake is often a challenge. 

And if I do eat a whole one – because who am I kidding, of course I have in the past and most probably will in the future – there is rarely enough room in my belly to try another flavour, let alone a different dessert! As I made these as part of a much larger dessert platter, I didn’t want people to be put off by their size… Rather, I wanted them to be enticed by their cuteness!

20140410-145159.jpg

These mini-cupcakes are seriously good. I usually prefer the icing, but I think in this case I actually preferred the cake itself. It was rich and chocolaty, as the Hummingbird Bakery use their Devil’s Food Cake as a base, but it was very, very light. The icing had a deliciously buttery vanilla flavour, but, I have to admit, it was verging on slightly too sweet. However, it was very easy to work with… I’m no professional baker, but I think these turned out quite well! All I did was load it into a ziplock bag, snip off the end, and pipe away… Et voilà! My mini-cupcakes looked as if they’d come straight out of the Hummingbird Bakery itself.

The recipe is from the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook and can be found here. For mini-cupcakes, bake for 8-10 minutes. I made around 35 from this recipe. For vanilla frosting, use the same method but substitute with 250g icing sugar, 80g unsalted butter and 25ml whole milk with a couple of drops of vanilla extract added.

Easiness: A bit fiddly, but not difficult
Taste: 9/10 – a little too sweet
Cost: Mostly store-cupboard ingredients, so not expensive. The only things that cost a lot were the sprinkles I used on top!

2 thoughts on “Eat In: Hummingbird Bakery Mini Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

